2018 Safety Awards Banquet Results

The Kansas Drivers of the Month and Driver of the Year 
This award recipient is selected from the 12 Drivers of the Month for 2017. The Drivers of the Month are nominated by their companies for years of safe driving, community involvement and acts of heroism. The winners are selected by a panel of judges from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, Kansas Corporation Commission and the Kansas Highway Patrol.

    January Driver of the Month – Mike Thiemann – RedGuard, LLC
    February Driver of the Month – David Malloy- RedGuard, LLC
    March Driver of the Month – William Topp – Hamm, Inc.
    April Driver of the Month – Steven Renyer – Red Line, Inc.
    May Driver of the Month –Travis Harries – Walmart Transportation
    June Driver of the Month – David Knight – Walmart Transportation
    July Driver of the Month – Dave Harris – Groendyke Transport, Inc.
    August Driver of the Month – Tim Howerton - Groendyke Transport, Inc.
    September Driver of the Month – Randy Hocker – Convoy Systems, LLC
    October Driver of the Month – Greg Gieswein - Walmart Transportation
    November Driver of the Month – Matthew Rohrer – Walmart Transportation
    December Driver of the Month – Jason Damron – Convoy Systems, LLC

      2017 - Kansas Driver of the Year
      Dave Malloy – RedGuard, LLC

      The Safety Professional of the Year
      Nominations for this award are submitted by a driver's company, or other individuals, for their successful implementation of safety programs within their company that have resulted in a superior safety climate within their company.

      Jody Crouch - Sedona Trucking, Inc.

      The Fleet Safety Contest
      This competition acknowledges carriers who compete in their division category and submit their company’s accident records for review by the panel of judges who also judge other KMCA safety contests. The carriers are evaluated on their Kansas DOT accident frequency ratio, ISS-2 score, SafeStat score and miles traveled in Kansas during the contest year. 

      2017 Fleet Safety Certificate Winners
      The Certificate Winners are determined by the Accident Frequency Ratio of .452 accidents per million miles traveled on Kansas Highways. Companies who entered that had an Accident Frequency Ratio of .452 received a certificate.

      Aggregate Carrier Division

      • Hamm, Inc.

      Agricultural Carrier Division

      • Golden Plains Trucking, Inc.
      • Sedona Trucking, Inc. 
      • Short and Son, Inc.
      Movers Conference
      • Kansas Van & Storage Criqui Corporation 
      • James B Studdard Transfer and Storage Company, Inc.

      Oilfield & Heavy Machinery Division

      • BKEP Crude, LLC 

      Private Division

      • Garmin International 
      • RedGuard, LLC
      Tank Truck Division
      • Groendyke Transportation, Inc.
      • Southwest Express, Inc.
      Truckload Division
      • Great Plains Trucking, Inc.
      • Keim T S, Inc.
      • Martin Trucking, Inc.

      2017 Fleet Safety Winners
      The Fleet Safety Winners
      received an award based on the best safety record in their division.


          Hamm, Inc.


          Golden Plains Trucking, Inc.


          FedEx Freight, Inc.


          James B Studdard Transfer & Storage Company, Inc.


          BKEP Crude, LLC


          Wal-Mart Transportation


          Groendyke Transportation, Inc.


          Keim T S, Inc.

              2017 Fleet Champion

              The Fleet Champion of the 2017 Fleet Safety Contest had the best overall safety record of those who competed in the Fleet Safety Contest. 

                James B Studdard Transfer & Storage Company, Inc.

                  2019 Event Details

                  The "Best of the Best" of 2018 will be recognized at the 2019 KMCA Safety Awards Banquet. The banquet will be held at the Capitol Plaza Hotel in Topeka. Awards are given for Drivers of the Month, Driver of the Year, Safety Professional of the Year and Fleet Safety Contest Winners. A reservation is required to attend this event. Below are files to register for the Safety Awards Banquet and nomination forms. Please return each form to the corresponding staff member by the deadline dates, each form indicates who to submit the form to and how. If you have any questions or concerns please call the office at 785-267-1641.

                  Safety Awards Banquet Registration Form

                  Safety Professional of the Year nomination Form

                  Fleet Safety Form

                  Driver of the Month

                  Why Join KMCA?
                  Contact Us
                  About Us
                  Photo Galleries
                  Safety Services
                  Truck Services
                  Information Resources
                  Members Only
                  Searchable Buyers Guide
                  © Copyright 2014 Kansas Motor Carriers Association. Website by Simply Solutions Inc.
                  Mailing address: PO Box 1673 Topeka, KS 66601-1673 
                  Physical Address: 2900 SW Topeka Blvd. Topeka, KS 66611 Phone: (785) 267-1641 Fax: (785) 266-6551 
                  Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software